Param Vir Chakra

Param Vir Chakra

The Param Vir Chakra (PVC) is India's highest military decoration, awarded for displaying distinguished acts of valour during wartime. Param Vir Chakra translates as the "Wheel of the Ultimate Brave", and the award is granted for "most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy".

As of January 2018, the medal has been awarded 21 times, of which 14 were posthumous and 16 arose from actions in Indo-Pakistani conflicts. Of the 21 awardees, 20 have been from the Indian Army, and one has been from the Indian Air Force. A number of central and state governments and ministries of India provide allowances and rewards to recipients of the PVC (or their family members in case of the recipient's death).


These are the men of steel who have given their everything to keep our country safe. With acts of supreme and selfless bravery, they have won the country’s highest wartime gallantry award. But how well do you know them? Here’s a look at what they have done to win what’s arguably the highest honour of the country.

Major Ramaswamy Parameshwaran

Honorary Captain Bana Singh

Brigadier Hoshiar Singh Dahiya

2nd Lieutenant Arun Khetarpal

Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon

Lance Naik Albert Ekka

Lieutenant Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore

Company Quartermaster Havildar Abdul Hamid

Major Shaitan Singh

Subedar Joginder Singh

Lieutenant Colonel Dhan Singh Thapa

Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria

Subedar and Honorary Captain Karam Singh

Company Havildar Major Piru Singh Shekhawat

Major Rama Raghoba Rane

Naik Jadunath Singh,

Major Somnath Sharma

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!