Indian Army is land based branch of Indian Armed Forces. President of Democratic Republic of India is Supreme Commander of Indian Army, and Army is commanded by Chief of Army Staff (COAS) a four star General.

 Founded 1 April 1895
 Size 12,37,117 active personnel and 9,90,960 reserve personnel
 Headquarter New Delhi
 Motto ” Service Before Self “
 Anniversaries 15 January (Army Day)
 Chief of Army Staff  General Bipin Singh Rawat UYSM, AVSM, YSM, VSM, SM
 Vice Chief of Army Staff  Lieutenant General Sarath Chand  UYSM, AVSM, VSM

The primary mission of the Indian Army is to ensure national security and national unity, defending the nation from external aggression and internal threats, and maintaining peace and security within its borders. It conducts humanitarian rescue operations during natural calamities and other disturbances, like Operation Surya Hope, and can also be requisitioned by the government to cope with internal threats. It is a major component of national power alongside the Indian Navy and the Indian Air Force.The army has been involved in four wars with neighbouring Pakistan and one with China. Other major operations undertaken by the army include: Operation Vijay, Operation Meghdoot and Operation Cactus.


The army operates six operational commands and one training command. Each command is headed by General Officer Commanding-in-Chief with the rank of lieutenant general. Each command is directly affiliated to the Army HQ in New Delhi. These commands are given below in their correct order of raising, location (city) and their commanders. There is also the Army Training Command abbreviated as ARTRAC. Besides these, army officers may head tri-service commands such as the Strategic Forces Command and Andaman and Nicobar Command, as well as institutions like Integrated Defence Staff.

Organisation of Army: Arms and Services

Fighting Arms

  • Armour
  • Infantry
  • Mechanised Infantry

Supporting Arms

  • Artillery
  • Engineers
  • Army Air Defence
  • Army Aviation Corps
  • Signals
  • Army Service Corp
  • Army Medical Corp
  • Army Ordinance Corp
  • Corps of Electrical and Mechanical Engineers
  • Army Education Corp
  • Remounted veterinary Corps
  • The Intelligence Corps

Field Formations

Below are the basic field formations of the Indian Army:

  • Command: Indian Army has six operational commands and one training command. Each one is headed by a general officer commanding-in-chief (GOC-in-C), known as the army commander, who is among the seniormost lieutenant general officers in the army.
  • Corps: A command generally consists of two or more corps. Indian Army has 14 Corps each one commanded by a general officer commanding (GOC), known as the corps commander, who holds the rank of lieutenant general. Each corps is composed of three or four divisions. There are three types of corps in the Indian Army: Strike, Holding and Mixed. The Corps HQ is the highest field formation in the army.
  • Division: Each division is headed by GOC (division commander) in the rank of major general. It usually consists of three to four Brigades. Currently, the Indian Army has 40 Divisions including four RAPIDs (Re-organised Army Plains Infantry Division), 18 Infantry Divisions, 12 Mountain Divisions, three Armoured Divisions and three Artillery Divisions.
  • Brigade: A brigade generally consists of around 3,000 combat troops with supporting elements. An Infantry Brigade usually has three Infantry Battalions along with various Support Elements. It is commanded by a brigade commander who is a Brigadier, equivalent to a brigadier general in some armies. In addition to the Brigades in various Army Divisions, the Indian Army also has five Independent Armoured Brigades, 15 Independent Artillery Brigades, seven Independent Infantry Brigades, one Independent Parachute Brigade, three Independent Air Defence Brigades, two Independent Air Defence Groups and four Independent Engineer Brigades. These Independent Brigades operate directly under the Corps Commander (GOC Corps).
  • Battalion: Composed of four rifle companies. Commanded by a battalion commander who is a Colonel and is the Infantry’s main fighting unit. Every infantry battalion also possesses one Ghatak Platoon.
  • Company: Composed of three platoons. Commanded by a company commander who is a major or lieutenant-colonel.
  • Platoon: Composed of three sections. Commanded by a platoon commander who is a JCO.
  • Section: Smallest military outfit with a strength of 10 personnel. Commanded by a section commander of the rank of Havaldar.

Rank Structure

The ranks of the Indian Army for the most part follow the British Army tradition.

Commissioned Officers

Commissioned officers are the leaders of the army and command everywhere from platoon/company to brigade, division, corps and the whole army.

Indian Army officers are continually put through different courses and assessed on merit throughout their career, for promotions and appointments. Substantive promotions up to lieutenant colonel or equivalent are based on time in service whereas those for colonel and above are based on selection, with promotion to colonel also based on time served.

How to Join ?

Project Shaurya helps you in joining the Indian Army as an Officer depending on your qualification and aptitude. You can click "on any entry” in case you want to join as an Officer and want to know eligibility criteria.

error: Content is protected !!