Awards and Decorations in Indian Armed Forces

The Armed Forces of India are eligible for a myriad of military decorations. Decorations are awarded for extraordinary bravery and courage, as well as distinguished service during times of war and peace. Service and campaign medals have been awarded throughout the history of India as an independent state.

Wartime Gallantry Award

   Param Vir Chakra
   Maha Vir Chakra
   Vir Chakra

Peacetime Gallantry Award

   Ashok Chakra
   Kirti Chakra
   Shaurya Chakra

Distinguished service and Gallantry Medals

   Sena Medal (Army)
   Nausena Medal (Navy)
   Vayusena Medal (Airforce)

Wartime distinguished service medals

  Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal
  Uttam Yudh Seva Medal
  Yudh Seva Medal

Peacetime distinguished service medal

Param Vishisht Seva Medal
Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
Vishisht Seva Medal

Service and campaign medal

   Wound Medal (Parakram Padak)
   General Service Medal 1947
   Samanya Seva Medal
   Special Service Medal
   Samar Seva Medal
   Poorvi Star
   Paschimi Star
   Operation Vijay Star
   Siachen Glacier Medal
   Raksha Medal
   Sangram Medal
   Operation Vijay Medal
   Operation Parakram Medal
   Sainya Seva Medal
   High Altitude Service Medal
   Videsh Seva Medal

Long Service Awards

   Meritorious Service Medal
   Long Service and Good Conduct Medal
   30 Years Long Service Medal
   20 Years Long Service Medal
   9 Years Long Service Medal
   Territorial Army Decoration
   Territorial Army Medal

Independence Medal

   Indian Independence Medal
  50th Independence Anniversary Medal
  25th Independence Anniversary Medal

error: Content is protected !!